Legal Header

Honouring National Indigenous Peoples Day and the anniversary of Treaty 8

Alberta - June 18, 2020
The Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) acknowledges that its head office in Calgary, or Mohkinstsis in the Blackfoot language, is located in the traditional territory of the Blackfoot Confederacy, Treaty 7, and the Métis Nation (Region 3). Our other offices and locations across the province are also in traditional land territories—Treaties 6 and 8. The peoples of these traditional territories all share a history and connection with the land known as Alberta. In the spirit of reconciliation and collaboration, we honour our working relationships with all indigenous communities.
Chief Keenooshayo addresses the Treaty Commission in Lesser Slave Lake
Cree Chief Keenooshayo addresses the Treaty Commission in Lesser Slave Lake, 1899.

Keenooshayo, chief of the Cree at Lesser Slave Lake, addresses the Treaty Commission in 1899—the year Treaty 8 was signed on June 21. Treaty 8 covers about 840 000 kilometres across Northern Alberta, Northwestern Saskatchewan, Northeastern B.C., and the Southwestern portion of the Northwest Territories.

June 21 is also National Indigenous Peoples Day, a day to celebrate the culture, heritage, and contributions of Canada’s First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples—the first peoples of Canada. In the 2016 census, more than 1.67 million Canadians identified themselves as an Aboriginal person. The AER is committed to working with indigenous communities in Alberta to better understand and consider their worldviews when it comes to energy development. We are all treaty people.

Resource Editor